White Chicken Chili (Southwest Chicken Chili)

White Chicken Chili @glutenfreemakeover.com

**Originally posted on Joy in These Moments

Netflix is a wonderful thing in this house.
(And, even though I’m not paid by or affiliated with them, I’m still going to sing their praises. Because that’s how I roll!)

Compared to most, this little family is still living in the dark ages.
HDTV? What’s that? Oh, you don’t have to have some weird antennae to get the news?
Yeah, we do. And I think we only have 1 REAL channel. So, we live off of Netflix and Hulu Plus. (Even with both, it’s cheaper than cable.)

So, tonight, the hubby decided we needed to watch a movie.
This man NEVER watches television, so when he mentions a movie, I take him seriously. However, I didn’t realize Ghostbusters was going to be first on the list to watch. We’re going old school tonight, folks. Seriously! I was only 3 when this movie came out.
It’s been a long time since I’ve seen it.
What a hoot! So many one liners and you just have to love Bill Murray and Dan Aykroyd.

Now, if Netflix is wonderful, I’m pretty sure my crockpot is glorious.
On Friday, I had a soup luncheon for my teacher inservice day. Knowing my rushed nature of the morning and how I am forever running late, I figured the best thing was to make my soup the night before and let it cook through the night. As a result, my crockpot and I are BFFs now. It’s so nice to just be able to grab and go!

I made a delicious white chicken chili for the luncheon. It even made enough for dinner tonight! And, once again, my crockpot proved it’s worth when I warmed up the leftovers in it while I shopped.
I truly believe the inventor of the crockpot deserves a Nobel Prize.

I’m off to watch Dances with Wolves, now.
Two movies in one night? I think I might faint!

But not before I pass along the chili recipe.
*Disclaimer: yes, I know that black beans in a white chicken chili is an abomination. I’ve received enough emails that if I didn’t already, I have no doubts now. haha
If it helps, think of this more as a Southwestern Chicken Chili – the beans, the corn, the tomatoes, and chilis. Super good. Super yum.

White Chicken Chili
Serves 6-8

Ingredients:
3-4 chicken breasts
2 – 14.5oz cans black beans (rinsed)
2 – 14.5oz cans sweet corn (one drained, one with liquid)
1 can Rotel (I use Mild – but add more Ro*Tel or a hotter version to spice it up)
2 pkgs Ranch dressing mix
2 – 8oz pkgs cream cheese
2 tsp chili powder
2 tsp onion powder
2 tsp cumin
1/2-1 cup gluten-free broth (optional)

1) Place the raw chicken in the bottom of the crockpot.
2) Pour the beans, corn and Rotel over the chicken. Mix in the ranch mix and spices.
2a) This is a thick chili. If you are concerned with the thickness, you can add chicken broth to thin it down some. It won’t change the flavor much; just the consistency.
3) Lay the cream cheese on top of the chicken, beans, and corn.
4) Cover and cook on low for 6-8 hours.
5) When done cooking, stir in the cream cheese and shred the chicken.

***Per many questions:
Ro*tel is a brand of diced tomatoes and chilis. In the event you don’t have Ro*tel, you can easily sub in some plain diced tomatoes with some green chilis.
Also, I have often subbed low-fat cream cheese in this recipe and it has still come out really good. Definitely a great go-to option if you are cutting calories and fat.

5 thoughts on “White Chicken Chili (Southwest Chicken Chili)

  1. Have you done this one as a freezer meal? I know you can freeze cream cheese, but the consistency is not the same once thawed. I’ve used frozen cream cheese in casseroles and cannot tell the difference, but never used in soups/chilli.

    • I don’t do a lot of freezer meals, so I have not done this one. However, I had this question on my other board and I consulted a knowledgeable friend.
      She suggested just mixing up the soup minus the cream cheese. Then, on the day you cook it, add the cream cheese.
      The cream should last in the fridge for 3-4 weeks if you choose to go that route. Or just freeze the cream cheese and add the frozen blocks to the top of the soup mixture.

      Sorry. I’m not a lot of help with this. The only time I did any freezer cooking was before I had my daughter and that was almost 2 years ago!
      I need to get back into it, huh? :)

  2. I’ve made a few freezer crockpot meals recently (haven’t been able to try them all yet) and posted about it on Facebook. Because of that people at church have become interested in it and want to start monthly freezer meals workshops. So, now I’m searching the www and looking for recipees to use, but want to make sure they are flavorful, don’t look gross, and easy to convert to freezer meals. 2 of your recipees will probably be used in our first workshop.

  3. Pingback: 100+ Amazing Crock Pot Recipes - Just 2 Sisters

Leave a Reply

