French Onion Soup – From Scratch

French Onion Soup @glutenfreemakeover.com

**Originally posted at Joy in These Moments

I bought a 3lb bag of yellow onions the other day. (I price matched it for $0.98!!)
Unfortunately, I forgot that I already had a bag of onions at home. So, I had to find something to do with them.

Enter my friend, Aprille. She blogs over at Beautiful in His Time. We were talking recipes and Pinterest when she directed me to her French Onion Soup.

I’ve never made this soup before and honestly had only had it once or twice – at a restaurant where it was super salty. But, I decided to go ahead and try it out since I had all the ingredients on hand.  I also added a few tweaks of my own as I was cooking.

Oh my word. When it was done….whew. It was so good it made me cry. (Well, really, the crying began when I was slicing the onions, but it still counts, right?

French Onion Soup

Ingredients:
4 medium onions
2 cloves garlic
1 stick butter
5 gluten-free beef broth
2 bay leaves
2 sprigs fresh thyme
1/2 cup white wine

Instructions:
1) Slice the onions in half, then slice thinly. Peel and mince garlic.
2) Melt the butter in a large pan, then add the onions and garlic.
3) Over medium heat, caramelize the onions, stirring occasionally to avoid scorching – about 15 minutes.
4) Add broth, bay leaves, thyme, and white wine.
5) Allow to simmer for approximately 1 hour.
6) Serve with your favorite white cheese melted over the top. Tradition dictates Gruyere, but we had Mozzarella on hand and it worked just fine.

One thought on “French Onion Soup – From Scratch

  1. Pingback: White Chicken Chili (Southwest Chicken Chili) | Gluten Free with Southern Charm

Comments are closed.