Spaghetti Squash Au Gratin

Spaghetti Squash Au Gratin
We love potatoes in this house. Actually, my husband loves potatoes…because that’s the only “vegetable” the man will eat.

I try, folks, I really do. But, 40 years of bad habits is hard to break!!

Anyway, I saw this recipe and wondered if I could fool him into thinking it was hash brown casserole. It was pretty close, honestly.
Had I added more salt, and not told him it was spaghetti squash BEFORE he had eaten all of his serving, he would have probably eaten more of it the first night. However, the next night, I added more salt with the leftovers and he actually ate it…and said I could make it again!
This fake-out was a win!

Spaghetti Squash Au Gratin

Ingredients:
1 medium spaghetti squash
2 tablespoons butter
1 small yellow onion, diced
½ cup sour cream
½ cup shredded cheddar cheese

Cut the spaghetti squash in half and remove the seeds.  Place in a dish with a ¼ inch of water; microwave for 10 -12 minutes.  While the squash is cooking, saute the onions until they are a light brown.
Use a fork to scrape the insides of the squash into a medium bowl, then mix in the onions, cheese, and sour cream. Salt and pepper to taste.
Bake at 350 for 2o minutes.

This recipe is linking up at:
Weekend Potluck
Living Well, Spending Less: Thrifty Thursday
Home Maid Simple

11 thoughts on “Spaghetti Squash Au Gratin

  1. This looks great! Do you think this would be freezer friendly? I am always looking for new freezer recipes.

    • Personally, I would not freeze it. I’m not a big fan of the consistency of thawed sour cream. But, if you don’t mind that, then I’m sure you could freeze it.

  2. I’ve seen Greek Yogurt substituted for sour cream. Do you think it will work in this recipe?

    • It would probably work. I haven’t tried it yet, but I’ve replaced sour cream with Greek yogurt in the past.
      If you try it before I have a chance, let me know how it turns out!

  3. Pingback: Low Carb Strawberry Shortcake | Gluten Free with Southern Charm

  4. Pingback: Three Cheese Squash Casserole | Gluten Free with Southern Charm

  5. I made this tonight and added sauteed mushrooms. Next time I will add kielbasa or sausage or maybe bacon. My whole family loved it!

      • We tried this with kielbasa this week (along with some mushrooms and chopped kale) and my husband absolutely loved it, but I think kielbasa has such a strong flavor that takes over. I will try bacon next. I am determined to find the perfect meat for this dish. 🙂

Comments are closed.