Apple Pepper Jack Chicken (a THM S-meal)

Apple Pepper Jack Chicken l Gluten Free with Southern Charm
Back before I got married, I had a wonderful roommate.
However, we were as different as night and day.
I was/am an introvert. Quiet and pretty shy until you get to know me.
Amy? Well, I seriously doubt she’s ever met a stranger! And if I’m an introvert, then she is the poster child for extrovert.

Yet, strangely, we were a great combo.

We’d cook and grocery shop together, have game nights at the house, bonded over So You Think You Can Dance, and would often have cleaning/dance parties. Seriously, I couldn’t have asked for a better roomie.
Typically, we would make our delicious creations together; but one night, I was late getting home. When I walked in, she had this dish ready to eat while we watched the newest episode of Grey’s Anatomy, Chuck, or whatever was on our schedule for the night.
It’s an incredibly simple dish and while it sounds somewhat strange…just like me and Amy, the ingredients are a fantastic combo!

Apple Pepper Jack Chicken

Ingredients:
4 chicken breasts
6 slices Pepper Jack cheese
1 apple (I used Fuji), peeled and sliced thin
salt

Instructions:
1) Heat oven to 350.
2) Place chicken into a 9×13 dish. Season with salt. Bake covered for about 20 minutes (or until chicken is close to being done)
3) Take chicken out of the oven and drain the liquid from the bottom of the dish.
4) Lay the apple slice over the top of the chicken and cover the apples with the cheese.
5) Place back in the oven and bake for another 10-15 minutes.

If you are following the Trim Healthy Mama lifestyle, this would qualify as an S meal since there is only 1/4 apple on each chicken breast. This is not enough to push it into crossover territory.

6 thoughts on “Apple Pepper Jack Chicken (a THM S-meal)

  1. Pingback: Pineapple Express Omelette (A Jimmy’s Egg Copy-cat Recipe) | Gluten Free with Southern Charm

  2. Pingback: Low Carb Strawberry Shortcake | Gluten Free with Southern Charm

  3. Pingback: Hasselback Chicken with Spinach and Pepper Jack | Gluten Free with Southern Charm

  4. Pingback: EASY Back-to-School Meals for the Entire Family

  5. This looks great! My old roommate and I were similar. I need to have her over and make this. She would love it!

Comments are closed.