Not Your Average Broccoli and (Blue) Cheese

Broccoli and {Blue} Cheese l Gluten Free with Southern Charm

My sister-in-law and mother-in-law came to stay this weekend. It had been a crazy week (and payday didn’t come until Friday anyway), so I had not had time to run to the store to get any groceries.
So, we quickly mapped out a dinner plan – I would run to Wal-Mart and grab a rotisserie chicken and some potato wedges for my veggie hating husband. Meanwhile, Mary (my sil) would get some veggies together.

When I got home and dinner was ready, I was greeted with this wonderful concoction of hers.

How did she know I was craving broccoli and cheese…but not really?

Broccoli and Blue Cheese

Ingredients:
1 1/2 heads broccoli, cleaned and cut
1 package Kraft blue cheese dressing mix
3/4 – 1 cup mayonnaise
fresh blue cheese for garnish

Instructions:
Mix the mayonnaise, dressing mix, and broccoli together until broccoli is well coated. (The amount of mayo is dependent on the size of broccoli heads and your mayo preference.)
Turn broccoli onto a greased cookie sheet (I prefer my sheets to be foil lined as well) and bake at 350 for about 30 minutes or until broccoli is cooked to your liking.

**Kraft is typically good to highlight potential reaction causing ingredients. This package does not state “wheat” under the MAY CONTAIN list, however it also does not state “Gluten Free”. Use at your own discretion. I have never had an allergic reaction, but I am not overly sensitive.

**Blue Cheese has long been on the “Do Not Eat” list. This is because traditionally, the cultures used to create blue cheese were grown on rye grains. Now days, few use this method. A study in 2009 showed that the majority of blue cheese contained “undetectable” traces of gluten (less than 1ppm), therefore they should be safe unless you are extremely sensitive. Do your homework and be sure the blue cheese you are using is safe.

Again, I am not an expert. I just create based on what I know does not bother me. I do try to look for gluten-free labeling, but if I happen to look it up on Google and it states it is safe, I will try it.
As always, these are just suggestions. Please use your own judgement.

3 thoughts on “Not Your Average Broccoli and (Blue) Cheese

    • It’s pretty good.
      I’m going to try it with just a bit of olive oil next time (instead of the mayonnaise). I’ll post an update if it turns out well. 🙂

  1. Pingback: Three Cheese Squash Casserole | Gluten Free with Southern Charm

Comments are closed.