Egg Roll in a Bowl (a Trim Healthy Mama S-Meal)

Egg Roll in a Bowl @Gluten Free with Southern Charm

So, I obviously haven’t been around in a long while.
Things have been crazy hectic at school and at home. Half the time I don’t know if I’m coming or going; if  I’m awake, asleep, or somewhere in the middle of Zombieland. I’m pretty sure that we have been at home one weekend out of the last 2 months. INSANE! Even for our normal schedule.
I’m so sorry for the absence. Here’s hoping this recipe will make it up to you!
(Also, school ends in exactly 27 days! So, I plan on sharing many more delicious treats and eats once that is over.)

I recently started a diet called Trim Healthy Mama. To simplify it in the easiest way I know how, it’s essentially a low-glycemic diet. You can pretty much each whatever you want, however you avoid eating carbs and fats together. I love it. I am eating delicious food, drinking yummy drinks, and snacking on cheese, fruit, and even chocolate muffins. The best thing about this diet is that the foods within the “S meals” (the fatty, or satisfying, meals) are naturally gluten-free. So, more than likely, you will see many more of these S Meals popping up here.

One thing that I have really missed since going gluten-free are egg rolls. There is just something so delicious in the mixture of fried wrapper, pork, cabbage, onions, and celery. So, you can imagine my joy when I came across this recipe at Intentionally Domestic. Thank you Pinterest for assisting in this discovery!! This recipe is so very close that if I close my eyes, I can imagine I’m having the real thing!
**I did add my own tweaks and per a suggestion from a busy mom, I opted for the precut and measured cabbage (probably the BEST suggestion I have received lately!).

Egg Roll in a Bowl

Ingredients:
1 lb ground pork
1 package coleslaw mix
3 ribs of celery, chopped
1 medium onion, chopped
3 cloves garlic, chopped
1 tsp fresh ginger, grated
3-4 Tbsp tamari sauce  **If you are doing THM, use Braggs Amino Acids
1-2 tsp rice vinegar

Directions:
Cook the ground pork until done and remove from pan, leaving the drippings.
Add onions, garlic and celery to the pan and saute until nearly cooked through.
Add the coleslaw mix and continue to cook about 15 minutes, then mix in cooked ground pork.
Add the freshly grated ginger, tamari sauce, and rice vinegar.
Allow to simmer for 5-10 minutes.

**This is also nicely complimented with some Sriracha sauce. It gives it a nice kick!

This recipe is also linking up with all the lovely ladies of  Weekend Potluck and Home Maid Simple

35 thoughts on “Egg Roll in a Bowl (a Trim Healthy Mama S-Meal)

    • It’s really good. And, the “Drive-Thru Sue” cheats make it so easy to do.
      I just wish my husband liked it as much as I do!

      Good luck on your THM journey!!

  1. I’m making this right now but using chicken instead. Hope it tastes just as good! Also, I don’t have rice vinegar…will just regular vinegar be fine?

    • Sorry. Just saw this!
      I actually added the rice vinegar in my tweaking. The original recipe does not have it and it’s still just as tasty.
      Let me know how it is with chicken! 🙂

      • It was delicious! Even with the chicken and regular vinegar, though next time I’ll be sure and grab the pork and rice vinegar for more flavor. Thanks for the recipe, my husband and I devoured our bowls. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Low Carb Strawberry Shortcake | Gluten Free with Southern Charm

  3. Pingback: Hasselback Chicken with Spinach and Pepper Jack | Gluten Free with Southern Charm

  4. Pingback: Yummmmmmm « Family Fitness Files

    • You know, I tried Braggs many, many years ago and didn’t like it. (I think most of it was mental!) I should definitely give it another try. 🙂
      Glad you enjoyed it!

  5. Could I add some bean sprouts in with the coleslaw mix, or are they a no-no? I can’t have rice vinegar, so I was wondering if regular vinegar would work as well? Definitely going to try this…looks yummy!

    • You could use regular vinegar or just leave it out completely.
      I have no idea on the bean sprouts. I would say they safe, but double check on one of the forums to be sure.

  6. I figured out egg rolls. You use the rice papers, but soften them with egg wash instead of water. They are prone to blow outs from air bubbles, so after I stuff and roll them, I use a vacuum sealer to suck out the air and flash freeze them. I vacuum 3 in a bag spaced out so they aren’t touching. Then you can fry them from frozen or I usually just spritz them with cooking spray and bake them, turning once, until crispy.

  7. I arrived home from taking a munchkin to boyscouts last night to find my college age daughter and hubby (for the first time EVER, gasp!) putting together this recipe. It was delicious and something my entire family loved! Thanks for posting… can’t wait to try more of your THM recipes!

  8. Thanks for the recipe! Made this for dinner last night and it will definitely go into my collection of “go-to” meals! I’m not gluten intolerant so I made mine with regular soy sauce and it came out perfectly! Thanks again!

  9. Pingback: Food Prep March 28th 2015 | Core Strength Weight Loss

  10. This dish is wonderful! All 5 kiddos and hubby loved it! They asked for seconds:) I added asparagus and mushrooms. We took you advice a put some siracha for the extra kick.

Comments are closed.