Low Carb Strawberry Shortcake

Low Carb Strawberry Shortcake  from Gluten Free with Southern Charm
Strawberries have always been near and dear to my heart. I loved watching Strawberry Shortcake when I was younger. I had the Strawberry Shortcake doll which I loved to pieces (literally). I could eat myself sick on strawberries. I even begged my mom to take me strawberry picking so I could get real strawberries – which she did, at 9 months pregant.

Side note: The woman deserves a round of applause, y’all. She was scooting along the ground picking berries when she was 9 months pregnant – at the end of June! And she did it because it was my birthday wish that year.

So, strawberries. For me, nothing is better in the summer than strawberry shortcake. Our traditional strawberry shortcake included frozen berries, Cool Whip, and the Hostess shortcake cakes (that you really can’t find anymore). Later, we moved on to Sara Lee pound cake. Oh so delicious. I drool just thinking about it!

My sister whipped up this great strawberry shortcake pie the other day. The recipe is adapted from our family Mississippi Mud Pie recipe, but is now Trim Healthy Mama friendly and appropriate for an S dessert. So, not only can we eat this sweet summer treat, but we can lose weight doing it!Β (Keep the strawberry serving at 1 cup per serving or this will turn into a Crossover.)

Low-Carb Strawberry Shortcake Pie
1 1/2 sticks butter, melted
1 cup sliced almonds
1 cup almond flour (I sometimes use more if it doesn’t cover the bottom of the pan)
8 oz cream cheese
1 1/4 cup Erythritol (or sweetener of choice)
1 pt heavy whipping cream
1 tsp vanilla
1 qt strawberries, sliced


For homemade whipped cream:
Chill a metal bowl and beaters prior to whipping the cream.
When chilled, beat 1 pt whipping cream, 1/4 cup Erythritol, and vanilla until you begin to get soft peaks.
*Do not over beat or it will become too stiff. Try to get to the consistency of Cool Whip.
**For best results, grind 1/4 cup of erythritol into a powder. Then, use 1/4 cup of the powder. This will make the whipped cream smoother.
Refrigerate until ready to use.

1st layer (shortcake):
Stir together the butter, almonds, and almond flour. Press into the bottom of a 9×13 dish.
Bake at 350 for 10 minutes or until golden brown.
Cool completely before adding additional layers.
**This should be a rather solid layer. If it looks too buttery, chances are you need to bake it longer.

2nd layer:
Mix the cream cheese, 1 cup Erythritol, and 1 cup whipped cream; spread onto the cooled shortcake.
(The original recipe calls for powdered sugar. You can put the sweetener into a food processor and it will come out a bit more smooth.)

3rd layer
Top with sliced strawberries

4th layer:
Top with left over whipped cream

Let cool in fridge until ready to eat

Β 

If you liked this recipe, take a peek at these as well:
Egg Roll in a Bowl
Apple Pepper Jack Chicken
Spaghetti Squash Au Gratin

This recipe is linking up at Weekend Potluck, one of my favorite linky parties,
Home Maid Simple
Time Warp Wife
Mandy’s Recipe Box

43 thoughts on “Low Carb Strawberry Shortcake

    • Yes. You need to have whipped cream (cool whip) made and chilled prior to making. πŸ™‚

      I will go move that to the first step. πŸ™‚

  1. I have sliced fresh strawberries in my freezer…can I use those?Also,will granular Splenda work as the sweetener in this recipe?

    • Yes, the strawberries should work. They might have more juice when they thaw though, so you might want to thaw them first and drain off any excess liquid.
      I’m sure you could use Splenda. Erythritol is a sugar alcohol that is a cup for cup ratio to sugar, so just go with the ration of sugar to Splenda.

    • Melt the butter. It makes it easier to incorporate the almonds and almond flour.

      I’ll go add this in for everyone else since I forgot to mention it. Thanks for asking!

      • Thanks. We ended up softening it a little bit in the microwave. It worked well. It is a very yummy!!! We started our THM journey back in January and this is my hubby’s favorite dessert thus far. Will definitely make it again!

      • yes, I spoke with my sister and she just softens her butter a little bit. I melt mine. So, it seems it works either way. πŸ™‚

        So glad you enjoyed it!
        Stick around. I’ll have more THM friendly recipes in coming up!

  2. I just made this!Omg!!!I am in love with this recipe!The only thing I had to do different is mix the strawberries in with the cream cheese.My strawberries were frozen and after thawing and draining,they still seemed too wet.I took a gamble and mixed them in with the cream cheese and whip cream.My husband loved it!!!!

    • What a great idea! I didn’t even think of that.
      So glad you liked it.
      (Next time, do a chocolate pudding in the middle and pecans in the crust instead of almonds. That’s how we have our Mississippi Mud Pie. oh so good!)

      • Personally, though it’s not the best for you, I would probably just look for a sugar-free chocolate Jell-O pudding! We usually use the chocolate fudge when making our normal pudding dessert.
        Aside from that, I have no idea! lol Sorry!

  3. Ok, I made this strawberry thing tonight….I wanted to eat the whole darn thing. Delicious, though not as pretty as yours. πŸ™‚ Thanks for having some real food on your blog. I’m doing thm and sometimes I wonder when some of the recipe creators last ate actual food, not weird diet food! Thanks again! God bless!

    • Girl! I LOVE my food….which is probably why I am doing THM as well. haha I’ve found that most food is easily converted to THM, except for things that have wheat. Then it can be a bit more tricky, but I guess that makes it fun for me.
      Glad you enjoyed it! Have a wonderful week full of His blessings.

  4. For anyone hesitant about this recipe it is delicious!!! By far the BEST dessert I have had since starting THM.

  5. So so so good!! Thank you! I will be making this again and definitely taking it to a pot luck where there are non THM’rs. I don’t think they’d now the difference!

  6. Be still my beating heart! I can’t wait to make this tonight with my fresh strawberries i just picked!

  7. Pingback: Hasselback Chicken with Spinach and Pepper Jack | Gluten Free with Southern Charm

  8. This looks so good & I have been wanting to make it for a long time. I’m planning to make this as one of our Easter desserts. Two questions… What sweetener do you prefer? Getting the measurements wrong has really messed me up with several THM desserts. I guess I’m not really good at “to taste.” I mainly use Truvia for desserts & sometimes Swerve. Second, what do you think about making this the day before. Maybe I could just make the crust the night before and quickly assemble the rest on the day of our get together. Sorry for being long winded!!! Thanks Mary Renee!

    • You could definitely make the day before. This is typically what we do – or we have leftovers. πŸ™‚ It’s always good afterwards too.

      I prefer xylitol as I discovered erythritol makes it difficult for me to breath. However, my sister uses erythritol/Swerve and prefers it.
      Definitely make sure you grind the sweetener. It does not dissolve like sugar, so it will leave the whipped topping very crunchy if you don’t.
      Hope you all like it.

  9. This was SO good! If you don’t mind me making a suggestion/hint, one of the cheapest & best things you can buy for the kitchen is a small coffee grinder for about $10. I don’t drink coffee, but I use this little thing at least a couple times a day. Need a bit more almond or coconut flour – put in dry unsweetened coconut or whole almonds and pulse for 30 sec. Need powdered sugar or sweetner? Pulse for under 10 seconds. Its also great if you add flax or chia seeds to your baking or smoothies. Pulse for a few seconds then add to whatever. Its always cheaper and healthier to buy whole and mill them yourself. I eat low carb and try hard to be GF as well. To cheat and make ‘breaded’ coatings for chicken parm or even chicken strips I throw a cup of GF cheerios and pork rinds in and pulse. I do in a few batches until I have enough to cover. Just thought I’d share as a thank you for a great dessert!

Comments are closed.