Three Cheese Squash Casserole

We have a ton of squash and zucchini coming out our ears right now.  Unfortunately, I found out AFTER I planted several plants that my husband hates both! So, I’m left with a ton of squash to eat up (or give away). This has me on a mission to find a way that my husband will eat squash and zucchini.

I mean, really? Doesn’t this look delicious?

Three types of cheese make this squash casserole irresistable. A perfect side for a Trim Healthy Mama S meal.

Truth be told, I was hoping that the cheese would be an attraction for my husband and that he would miraculously fall in love with squash and this casserole. How you could NOT want to dig into this cheesy casserole? How could you not love it?
Well, if you’re name is John, then it’s apparently pretty easy! As of right now, I am still a failure with my husband’s taste buds, but I am able to scarf the leftovers without feeling like I’m greedy!

Don’t let my husband’s warped palate discourage you. This is so yummy and I had more than my fair share at dinner.
For all my Trim Healthy Mama‘s, this is a great side for an S meal if you use the almond flour topping.

What you need to start:
6 medium yellow squash, thinly sliced
1 medium Vidalia onion, thinly sliced
4 oz softened cream cheese
1/4 cup sour cream
1/2 cup Parmesan Cheese
1 cup cheddar cheese
1 stick, plus 2Tbs butter
1 sleeve gluten-free crackers or 2 cups gluten-free corn flakes or 1 cup almond meal
salt and pepper, to taste

Directions:
Heat oven to 350.
Saute squash and onions in butter, until soft and onions are beginning to caramelize.
Transfer to a mixing bowl and mix with cheeses and sour cream. Add salt and pepper to taste.
Place in greased/sprayed casserole dish.
Crush crackers or corn flakes and mix with 1 stick of melted butter. Spread over the top of the squash.
*If you are using the almond meal, only use 1/2 stick of butter for the topping mixture.
Bake at 350 for 20 minutes or until bubbly and golden. (Note: The almond meal will still remain pale.)

If you liked this side, try these other family favorites:
Spaghetti Squash Au Gratin
Broccoli and Blue Cheese
Mango Cilantro Salad
Spicy Jicama Fries with Chipotle Aioli

2 thoughts on “Three Cheese Squash Casserole

  1. I made this recipe and added ground turkey browned and it has become our go to casserole. I double this bake it off cool it and then portion it in containers for us to have for lunch and dinners. Thanks so much and keep the THM recipes coming 🙂

Comments are closed.